It is currently Fri 21. Sep 2018 21:05:41

All times are UTC + 1 hour





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
  Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed 06. Jun 2018 5:02:55 
Offline

Joined: Thu 16. Nov 2017 5:21:17
Posts: 46
I am working on switching over my fleet to a Horus X10S but have hit a snag on the first model.

Goblin 380
Spirit Pro (2.4.4)
Spirit FrSky Integration Cable
Spirit Hobbywing
Hobbywing v4 80a (4.0.04)
FrSky X4RSB
FrSky GPS v2

Now, I am coming from Spektrum with this exact model, ESC & Spirit and everything was working before I started making the transition.

The Spirit is all setup now and I get the Integration on the X10S and can browse & change settings, however no matter what I do the Horus will not discover the sensors.

It discovers RSSI, RxBt and all the GPS stuff no problem.

I have also tried without the GPS and all it gets is the RSSI and RxBt.

I ordered several cables since I am swapping everything and I tried another cable to no avail.

Not really understanding how the integration works but the telemetry doesn't, especially since it was working fine on Spektrum.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed 06. Jun 2018 8:01:51 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon 29. Apr 2013 16:06:44
Posts: 7965
Hi,

it is important to plug the FrSky integration cable in the right way, otherwise it will not work.

Please see this page: http://manual.spirit-system.com/index.p ... ntegration

There should be no other issue other than that. Yes, I recommend to not connect GPS and start discovery of the sensors.

_________________
Spirit System developer


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed 06. Jun 2018 11:47:30 
Offline

Joined: Thu 16. Nov 2017 5:21:17
Posts: 46
Both cables I tried were connected with the long side to the sys port, is that not correct?

Also would the integration part work if the cable was backwards? I can use the integration, but no sensors are discovered for telemetry.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed 06. Jun 2018 11:53:32 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon 29. Apr 2013 16:06:44
Posts: 7965
If integration is working, then telemetry should as well.

If not, then it mean that the integration menu was not closed properly. If the menu was opened then telemetry values are not sent so can't be discovered either.
Maybe the problem is just there. It is enough to just power up the unit and after initialization all telemetry values should be available (if sensor scanning is enabled).

Yes, longer to the SYS port.

_________________
Spirit System developer


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed 06. Jun 2018 11:55:42 
Offline

Joined: Thu 16. Nov 2017 5:21:17
Posts: 46
How do you close it "properly"?

Also, I have power cycled everything multiple times, I would think that would reset any unclosed Lua scripts automatically would it not?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu 07. Jun 2018 14:24:07 
Offline

Joined: Thu 16. Nov 2017 5:21:17
Posts: 46
Well I figured it out.

Spirit is using the same Sensor ID (4) as the FrSky GPS v2 module. When I was testing the other night I had already discovered the GPS sensors before trying the direct connection, bypassing the GPS, so the Spirit sensor still did not come in.

It would be nice if Spirit had the ability to change the Sensor ID in the software, but for now I guess I need to order the FrSky Servo Channel Changer. I want it all setup for testing this Sunday so I guess I have to get it overnighted. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
skymiles_red v1.0.1 designed by Team -Programming forum-سيارات للبيع .