It is currently Thu 24. May 2018 1:29:12

All times are UTC + 1 hour





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 183 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19  Next
  Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: GPS?
PostPosted: Tue 15. May 2018 14:24:56 
Offline

Joined: Fri 02. Feb 2018 15:25:32
Posts: 23
toto_gt wrote:
Sakuji wrote:
ZeXx86 wrote:
Well done, this should work pretty well.
Just make sure it is made from plastic. A bigger/massive conducting parts such as carbon frame, aluminium or similar are not optimal for GPS signal.
But for GPS modules the most parts are made from plastic, so linked stuff will work well.



We want some videos, Tomas.

Please? :D

I'm picking some of these. Colored black that will blend better on the boom. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071WW8P83/ref=psdc_507844_t2_B003L16ZYU


Well i would prefer to have my own unit , instead of watching vids.


That's even a better option.... Now you ask Tomas to do that....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS?
PostPosted: Tue 15. May 2018 16:09:11 
Offline

Joined: Fri 02. Feb 2018 15:25:32
Posts: 23
Tomas

On a related note. Do you plan on releasing replacement cases for the modules being that they are pretty exposed at the tail boom area? The way your module is designed it seems it is a user serviceable item in terms of replacing the case.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS?
PostPosted: Thu 17. May 2018 13:37:27 
Offline

Joined: Mon 14. Sep 2015 15:44:06
Posts: 58
Sakuji wrote:
Tomas

On a related note. Do you plan on releasing replacement cases for the modules being that they are pretty exposed at the tail boom area? The way your module is designed it seems it is a user serviceable item in terms of replacing the case.

Thanks
Sakuji, I wouldn't worry about it. The whole point is not crashing the heli unless it is hardware fault.

I think he will do something if it ever happen. And you can 3d-print the case even though it might not look kool.

_________________
"Flying makes me happy" -- Markus Chelios


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS?
PostPosted: Thu 17. May 2018 13:39:32 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon 29. Apr 2013 16:06:44
Posts: 7492
For sure we can provide spare enclosures. You are right that it is easy to replace (just few seconds).

_________________
Spirit System developer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS?
PostPosted: Thu 17. May 2018 15:24:31 
Offline

Joined: Fri 02. Feb 2018 15:25:32
Posts: 23
RedJacket wrote:
Sakuji wrote:
Tomas

On a related note. Do you plan on releasing replacement cases for the modules being that they are pretty exposed at the tail boom area? The way your module is designed it seems it is a user serviceable item in terms of replacing the case.

Thanks
Sakuji, I wouldn't worry about it. The whole point is not crashing the heli unless it is hardware fault.

I think he will do something if it ever happen. And you can 3d-print the case even though it might not look kool.


That's the point, there are certain instances of crashing due mechanical/electronic problems. Remember those Oxy4 tail failures or overcurrent shutdown?

It's a legitimate question on a possible scenario specially that the boom is the preferred location similar to the Skookum or any other gps device ever introduced on rc heli.


Last edited by Sakuji on Thu 17. May 2018 15:28:14, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS?
PostPosted: Thu 17. May 2018 15:26:14 
Offline

Joined: Fri 02. Feb 2018 15:25:32
Posts: 23
ZeXx86 wrote:
For sure we can provide spare enclosures. You are right that it is easy to replace (just few seconds).



Perfect, Tomas!

Now, if can we just get our hands on those geolinks. Lots of us here have been drooling :D ...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS?
PostPosted: Thu 17. May 2018 19:04:34 
Offline

Joined: Thu 17. May 2018 18:53:23
Posts: 2
hello,

what do you think about my mounting position? It is far away from the Motor. The canopy is only plastik and there is no metall or cfk next to the modul. It is right next to the Spirit Pro and away from the Rotor Head. There is only one servo 5cm away.

Is there a option where i can see if the signal is good or bad?

:)


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS?
PostPosted: Thu 17. May 2018 19:20:51 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon 29. Apr 2013 16:06:44
Posts: 7492
It will very likely work there, but for sure tail boom would be better.
Any nearby metal and electronics is bad if you want to achieve the best performance.

Yes, it will be possible to see signal quality / precision. Even if you will mount GeoLink at the worst possible place, it will work somehow since it has exceptionally sensitive antenna.
GeoLink is even able to get signal indoor without any help of network, but precision is directly dependent on the signal quality.

_________________
Spirit System developer


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS?
PostPosted: Thu 17. May 2018 19:29:06 
Offline

Joined: Thu 17. May 2018 18:53:23
Posts: 2
ok, thank you for your help. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: GPS?
PostPosted: Fri 18. May 2018 4:10:28 
Offline

Joined: Sat 03. Feb 2018 16:53:40
Posts: 14
Any idea when units will be sent out ?
Thanks.

Sent from my SM-N910W8 using Tapatalk


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 183 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 15, 16, 17, 18, 19  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
skymiles_red v1.0.1 designed by Team -Programming forum-سيارات للبيع .