It is currently Wed 18. Oct 2017 21:11:07

All times are UTC + 1 hour





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
  Print view Previous topic | Next topic 
Author Message
 Post subject: HobbyWing ESC Telemetry
PostPosted: Sun 13. Aug 2017 13:03:58 
Offline

Joined: Sat 23. Jan 2016 1:24:18
Posts: 13
The HobbyWing Platinum 60A V4 esc is the ideal size for my application (Compass Warp with Spirit FBL controller). The 80A is just too big to fit.

The online Spirit manual states the HW 60A esc is the only size that does not provide Battery Current and Consumed Capacity. Is this still the case or does a firmware update change this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun 13. Aug 2017 14:19:00 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon 29. Apr 2013 16:06:44
Posts: 6790
Hello,

60A has no current sensor inside, so it is technically impossible to implement it.
Another possibility is to get for example CC Phoenix Edge (Lite) ESC which is available in similar or smaller size.

_________________
Spirit System developer


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun 13. Aug 2017 23:07:08 
Offline

Joined: Wed 19. Apr 2017 22:48:35
Posts: 7
Hi...
but with the edge, we cannot measure more than 2500 rpm if I understand correctly ...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon 14. Aug 2017 7:43:54 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon 29. Apr 2013 16:06:44
Posts: 6790
It can measure 20000 RPM, but if your motor is spinning faster, then it is problem.
On a bigger helicopters it is OK.

But with these ESCs you have also RPM lead wired out, so you can use it for measurement as well.
On the other hand internal governor is probably not working that well as of HobbyWing.

_________________
Spirit System developer


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue 15. Aug 2017 7:31:49 
Offline

Joined: Sat 23. Jan 2016 1:24:18
Posts: 13
ZeXx86 wrote:
Hello,

60A has no current sensor inside, so it is technically impossible to implement it.


Thanks for the reply. But it is sad news for me. Why would HW not include current sensing ability?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue 15. Aug 2017 7:49:27 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon 29. Apr 2013 16:06:44
Posts: 6790
Because it will not fit sensor on the board and also it would be more expensive.
So probably these are reasons for such decision.

_________________
Spirit System developer


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  



Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
skymiles_red v1.0.1 designed by Team -Programming forum-سيارات للبيع .